2021 AGM, Awards & Inter-Counties Round-up

Another club news update for you as we draw ever closer to the end of the year.


The Club AGM and fun gala took place last Saturday 13 November. After an energetic 90 minutes of relays, expertly coordinated by Steve, we gathered to complete the administrative necessities of the AGM, followed by all important Pizza and presentation of our annual awards.

At the AGM, our Committee for the next year was elected. We’re very pleased to welcome them to their new roles:

Chair – Michael Barnett

Treasurer – Sara Luder

Club Secretary – Emma Sweetland

Membership Secretary – Laura Kerrigan

Team Manager – Olegas Petrikas

Kit Secretary – Tracy Wheeler

Communications Officer – Willem Heskes

Social Secretary – Vacant 

We’re still seeking a volunteer for the role of Social Secretary – if you think you could arrange a fun night out please consider volunteering. If you’re interested, email spencerswimteam@gmail.com


We awarded a short list of four awards this year, in recognition that this year has had slightly less swimming than we would have liked.

Dave Mace Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Club: John Gordon (Posthumous), Club Founder

Irving Dixon Award for Freestyle Swimmer of the Year: Georgina Quayle, for 4 medals (3 individual, 1 team) at Nationals

Outstanding Performance of the year: Fran Baker, for 5 individual national medals including 3 golds.

Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Rachel O’Riordan for circumnavigating the Scilly Isles!

Congratulations again to all of our winners.

Inter Counties Champs 2021

Spencer swimmers were seen racing for four different County teams this Sunday (14 Nov) with Amanda Heath for Berkshire and South Bucks, Di Ford for Hampshire, Clive Benson for Sussex, Sue Lauder and Abba Newbery for Surrey. The racing was fast and furious, 50m only, and with most also racing at least 4 relays. Di Ford’s Hampshire took home the Cup.

Leave a Reply